April 22, 2021

     KANE COUNTY TREASURER, Michael J. Kilbourne, MBA, announces that 2020 Kane County Real Estate tax bills, that are payable in 2021, will be mailed on April 30, 2021.  The first installment will be due on or before June 1, 2021 and the second installment will be due on or before September 1, 2021.


     Kane County Clerk, Jack Cunningham, reports the Net Taxable Valuation for Kane County is $15,957,579,053 with a Total County Tax  Extension of $1,401,768,875.26.


     Beginning at 12:00 Noon, on April 28, 2021, taxpayers may visit our website at KaneCountyTreasurer.org to view and print duplicate bills.


     Taxpayers are encouraged to make payments in the following methods:

  1. Recommended – Online at KaneCountyTreasurer.org.  There is no fee for an e-check payment.  Please note there are convenience fees for credit card (2.35%) and debit card (1.15%) payments.
  2. Recommended – Mailing your check, with the payment coupon, in the envelopes provided with your bill.
  3. Recommended – Placing your check payment with the payment coupon, in the envelopes provided, in our Drive-Up Payment Drop Box.  The Drop Box is located behind Building A at the Kane County Government Center, 719 S. Batavia Ave., in Geneva.  The Drop Box is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
  4. Many Kane County Banks will accept on-time payments at their drive-up facilities if accompanied with a payment coupon.  Please find a list of participating banks at KaneCountyTreasurer.org.
  5. Payments may also be made at the Kane County Treasurer's office during regular business hours.  In the effort to practice recommended social distancing guidelines, we kindly request that taxpayers refrain from paying in person if at all possible.





​February 22, 2021


KANE COUNTY INTERIM TREASURER, MARIA E. HERRERA, announces the 2021 Kane County Mobile Home Tax bills will be mailed on or before March 10, 2021.  Payment will be due within 60 days from the date of mailing, May 10, 2021.

Payments may be mailed to the Treasurer's office using a personal check or money order.  Payments may also be made in person at the Treasurer's office using a credit card, debit card or cash.  Please be remin​ded that a 2.35% service fee will be added to all credit and debit card payments.

Check, credit card and debit card payments will now also be accepted at the Kane County Clerk's Branch Office, located at 5 E. Downer Place, Suite F, in downtown Aurora.  Please note that cash payments cannot be accepted at this location.  A 2.35% service fee also applies to all credit or debit card transactions at this location.


​ ​


December 21, 2020

KANE COUNTY TREASURER, DAVID J. RICKERT, would like to remind taxpayers that information and forms for the Senior Citizens Property Tax Deferral program are now available in the Treasurer’s office.

The program allows qualified senior citizens to defer all or part of their 2020 property taxes up to $5,000 on their personal residence.  Applications must be filed with the Treasurer’s office by March 1, 2021 in order to defer 2020 taxes billed in 2021.

To qualify, a person must be 65 or over by June 1, 2021, have a total household income of $55,000 or less, and have lived in the property for at least three years.  In addition, there must be no delinquent taxes on the property.  Also, if the property is subject to a mortgage then your mortgage company would also have to approve your participation in the program.

Qualified taxpayers can defer taxes totaling up to 80 percent of the equity interest they have in the home.  The program provides funding at a six percent simple interest rate which doesn’t require repayment until the taxpayer sells the property or until after the taxpayer’s death.

To apply for the program, the person has to file two forms with the County Treasurer’s office.  The first form (IL1017 TD) asks for basic information on the taxpayer, their income and their property.  It also requires that joint owners agree to the tax deferral.  In addition, it requires that evidence be presented of adequate insurance on the property.

The second form (IL1018 TD) is the agreement for the tax deferral.  It sets out the conditions of the deferral, including the amount which can be deferred, the interest rate and the arrangements for paying back the “loan”.

If you have any questions about this program, please contact the County Treasurer’s office located at 719 South Batavia Avenue in Geneva, Illinois.  The phone number is 630-232-3565



​October 8, 2020


     Kane County Treasurer, David J. Rickert, announces that the annual property tax sale will be delayed. This sale was originally scheduled for October 26, 2020. This year, concerns over protecting the legal interests of sale participants and property owners led the States Attorney's office to advise delaying the sale pending further guidance from the Illinois Department of Revenue.  A new date has not been announced.

     An additional concern of Treasurer Rickert was ensuring that property owners struggling to meet this obligation due to COVID 19 were afforded additional time to pay.  Taxpayers will still be subject to a state required penalty charge of 1.5% per month until payment is made; however, tax sale costs and fees will be avoided until a sale can take place. For additional information please contact the Treasurer's office at 630-232-3565.




​August 6, 2020

Kane County Treasurer, David J. Rickert, would like to remind taxpayers that the second installment of property tax is due September 1st.  If you are a new or existing homeowner and need a copy of the bill to remit payment, you may print a bill from the Internet by visiting the following WEB site:  KaneCountyTreasurer.org or contact the Treasurer's Office at (630) 232-3565. 


Taxpayers may make payment by:

                   Mailing the payment to the Treasurer's Office.  Mail postmarked by September 1st is considered on time.

                   Dropping the payment off in the property tax drop box, which is available 24 hours a day.  The drop box is located behind Building (A) at the Government                     Center 719 South Batavia Avenue, Geneva, IL.
                   Make payment at a participating Kane County Bank.  List available at KaneCountyTreasurer.org.
                   Pay over the Internet by E-check.  E-check service is free.

                   Pay over the Internet by credit/debit card.  Convenience fees apply for credit and debit card payments.



  March 9, 2020


  In the continuing effort to improve the efficiency of the office through computer automation, KANE COUNTY TREASURER, DAVID J. RICKERT, announces a    new  tax e-mail and text notification system that is available through the Kane County Treasurer's website.  This new automated system will allow  ​  Kane County property owners to receive real estate tax due date reminders and tax payment notifications via e-mail and text.


  To subscribe, please go to www.KaneCountyTreasurer.org and click on Tax Notifications. 




Tax Collection Photo





KANE COUNTY TREASURER, DAVID J. RICKERT, announces that property tax collection services will now be offered at the Kane County Clerk’s branch in Aurora.  This fulfills a campaign promise to bring more services to Illinois’ second largest city.

Treasurer Rickert is also proud of the positive working relationships maintained with Mayor Richard Irvin and County Clerk Jack Cunningham.  “I look forward to finding more areas of cooperation where we can better serve our citizens” Rickert said.

The branch office of the Kane County Clerk is located at

5 E. Downer Place in downtown Aurora is taking payments from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday.  Please note, only check payments can be made at this location.




Treasurer Home Page